I’ve been having a lot of fun doing photo shoots with my hand spun yarns! This hand spun merino wool yarn twist is one of my favourite pictures of the day:
handspun

This bulky single strand yarn was spun with alchemy fiber arts spinning fiber that was beautifully hand-painted. The merino was mostly green but had many different spots of pinks, blues, orange, yellow, purple, etc in it. I don’t know why I’m referring to it in the past tense because there is still half of the braid of roving left! I am lingering over using this stuff up as it has one of my most sought-after characteristics : all of the colours.

I would usually say “green and blue”, but my favourite colour really is “all of them at once”. So, what is your favourite colour? Or better yet, favourite colour combination? Aside from “all of them”, I really enjoy olive green with bright aqua/turquoise.

Here are all three balls of this yarn:
handspun

I found it hard to pick up the green of this yarn in these photos, in person it really is noticeably mostly green. You wouldn’t be able to tell from this next picture! Here is the same merino spun as a bulky 3-ply:
handspun

This yarn looks much more purple and less green than in it in person, although it was spun from part of the braid that had lots of purple in it. There is only a very small skein of it but I may spin the rest of it the same way, I love how it looks so much. Watching colour progress in a navajo-ply yarn is so much fun.

And finally, a shot of the full picture my new header came from. I really love how this yarn (and picture!) turned out:
handspun

I spun this single strand corriedale wool yarn from Maisy Day Handspun hand-dyed by Sarah, colourway: anemone. I loved working with this fiber, it’s so shiny and easy to draft. Sarah’s colourways and fibers are really beautiful and a pleasure to work with. I spun this same wool into a different style of yarn and will take pictures and post them soon.

