I woke up this beautiful, snowy morning to find a gift waiting for me – “Vogue Knitting Quick Gifts”. What a nice surprise! I’ve flipped through the book and have already found a few projects I would like to try out soon including lavender sachets and adorable horse and zebra pillow buddies.

In a comment from a previous post Christabel asked if Blinky is handmade. No, I’m sorry to say, he is not. He is an uglydoll given to me as a gift.

My first Mittens
first mittens

These were so much fun to knit, I loved the yarn I worked with and creating the top of the pattern as I went. I worked k2p1 ribbing for the cuff in Cascade 220 and then switched to stockinette for the rest of the mitten in Sweet Paprika’s Dolce in “African Violet”. I improvised the top of the mitten by decreasing above the top of the thumb hole and again halfway across the mitt. I finished both the top of the mitts and thumbs with a few rows of k2tog which gave the tips this really cute wispy fairy feel to them.

Sunset Helmet Hat – Earflap
helmet hat earflap

This is a detail from the hat I currently wear. I made it from a free pattern available on cosymakes. It’s a fun, easy pattern. At the time of knitting this (Dec. 2007) I had never done a flat hat, a 3 needle bind off or ear flaps, so it was a great learning opportunity for me. I couldn’t get my head around properly finishing the earflaps as I was in a knitting frenzy and set on finishing at all costs (and not taking the time to figure out some simple slip stitches) so, I adapted them to simple garter stitch flaps.

I love the colour combination of this Cascade 220 dark blue yarn and Sweet Paprika’s Dolce in “Peach Sunset”! So much so that I am now making my second pair of mittens to match.

Sunset Mittens
sunset mitt

I started these mitts a few days ago- as soon as I cast off my final purple mitt. I had these in mind since the moment I cast on my first mitts. They are lovely to knit and I like seeing how the “Peach Sunset” colourway develops in the mitten pattern.

