I am extremely pleased and proud to introduce my first published pattern – Frosted Windowpanes.

Frosted Windowpanes hat

I was honored when Debbie (pictured above) asked me if I wanted to write up this pattern to be published on the Sweet Paprika website as part of their Fall 2009 collection of patterns and I agreed to it immediately. They had seen an earlier version of this hat that I had knit years ago when they first started their hand-dyeing business and remembered it. Back then, I hadn’t done very much color work and my stranded knitting was so tight that the hat didn’t fit too many people (I ended up gifting it to a friend, Beth, who likes her hats SNUG). Luckily, my tension has improved since then. :)

They sent a few skeins of yarn and I started knitting and writing up the pattern as I went. I sent the hat back to them to be examined and photographed and was incredibly happy when I received an email including the .pdf file of the pattern expertly formatted and written up by the Sweet Paprika crew. I am so grateful to them for this opportunity and hopefully this is the first of many of my published patterns.

The Details:

Pattern: Frosted Windowpanes available for FREE at Sweet Paprika Designs.   Ravelry Pattern Page

Yarns: Sweet Paprika Designs “Dolce” in African Violet and Sweet Paprika Designs “Minuet” in Deep Purple

Needles: US size 7 (4.5mm) circ.s and/or dpns

I LOVE working with these beautifully hand-dyed yarns. Dolce is a DK silk/merino blend yarn which is hand-painted in a variety of breath-taking variegated colorways. Minuet is a bouncy DK superwash merino yarn with subtle variations in color that gives a look of depth to the knitted fabric.

